## MINUTES OF A MEETING OF THE REGULATORY COMMITTEE HELD ON 17 MAY 2005

#### Present:

Councillors Les Caborn

Richard Chattaway Michael Doody Pat Henry Joan Lea Barry Longden Brian Moss Mike Perry Dave Shilton Ian Smith John Wells

## Other councillors in attendance:

Councillors John Appleton, George Atkinson, Sarah Boad, David Booth, Ken Browne, John Burton, Alan Cockburn, Gordon Collett, Jose Compton, Chris Davis, Jill Dill-Russell, Alan Farnell, Anne Forwood, Peter Fowler, Eithne Goode, Richard Grant, Colin Hayfield, John Haynes, Marion Haywood, Martin Heatley, Bob Hicks, Richard Hobbs, Richard Hyde, Mick Jones, Katherine King, Bernard Kirton, Nina Knapman, Bryan Levy, Anita Macaulay, Frank McCarney, Helen McCarthy, Phillip Morris-Jones, Tim Naylor, Jerry Roodhouse, John Ross, Chris Saint, Izzi Seccombe, Kam Singh, Mota Singh, Mick Stanley, Bob Stevens, Ray Sweet, Heather Timms, Sid Tooth, John Vereker CBE and John Whitehouse.

An apology for absence was submitted on behalf of Councillor Peter Barnes.

## 1. Appointment of Chair

Councillor Barry Longden, seconded by Councillor John Wells, proposed that Councillor Richard Chattaway be appointed Chair of the Committee.

A vote was taken and it was resolved that Councillor Richard Chattaway be appointed Chair of the Committee.

# 2. Appointment of Vice-Chair

Councillor Richard Chattaway, seconded by Councillor Brian Moss, proposed that Councillor Dave Shilton be appointed Vice-Chair of the Committee. A vote was taken and it was resolved that Councillor Dave Shilton be appointed Vice-Chair.

## 3. Members Disclosures of Personal and Prejudicial Interests

There were no disclosures of interests.

## 4. Appointments to Bodies and Delegation of Powers

The Committee considered a report from the County Solicitor and Assistant Chief Executive and a tabled list of recommendations.

### Resolved:

- (1) That the Committee establishes the Pension Fund Investment Board with the same terms of reference as set out in the Council's constitution and with the following membership:
  - Councillors George Atkinson, Chris Davis, Bob Hicks, Brian Moss and Helen McCarthy.
- (2) That the Committee establishes the following bodies, in accordance with the Council's constitution:
  - (a) Disciplinary appeal sub-committee pool (total 24 members) except that this pool will not deal with appointments.
  - (b) Social Services complaints pool (total 14 members).
- (3) The Committee appoints the Councillors to the pools as follows:

Disciplinary appeal sub-committee pool

Disciplinary appeal sub-committee pool			
Conservative (11)	Labour (9)	<u>Liberal Democrat (4)</u>	
John Ross	Anne Forwood	Nina Knapman	
Helen McCarthy	John Haynes	Dave Shilton	
John Vereker	Pat Henry	Chris Davis	
Izzi Seccombe	Bob Hicks	Richard Dodd	
Bob Stevens	Mick Jones		
Mike Perry	Barry Longden		
Joan Lea	Frank McCarney		
Heather Timms	Tim Naylor		
John Burton	Ray Sweet		
Chris Saint			
Ian Smith			

**Social Services Complaints Panel Pool** 

Conservative (6)	Labour (5)	Liberal Democrat (3)
Josephine Compton	Anne Forwood	Jill Dill-Russell
Marion Haywood	Barry Longden	Richard Dodd
Izzi Seccombe	Mota Singh	Dave Shilton
Peter Fowler	Mick Stanley	
Helen McCarthy	Sid Tooth	
Bob Stevens		

- (4) That the Committee appoints Councillors David Booth and Frank McCarney to the Joint Negotiating Body for Staff (two members of Cabinet Councillors Alan Cockburn and Bob Stevens were appointed by the Cabinet on 17 May 2005.)
- (5) That the Committee appoints Councillors Richard Grant and John Whitehouse to the Joint Negotiating Body for non-teaching staff (two members of Cabinet Councillors John Burton and Peter Fowler were appointed by the Cabinet on 17 May 2005).
- (6) That the Committee establishes the following sub-committees:
  - (a) School Governing Bodies Sub-Committee to review the overall distribution of places of school governing bodies between the political groups and independent members of the Council. The membership to be 5 councillors (two nominated by the Conservative Group, two nominated by the Labour Group and one nominated by the Liberal Democrat Group).
  - (b) Outside Bodies Sub-Committee to review the overall distribution of places on external bodies (excluding school governing bodies) between the political groups and independent members on the Council. The membership to be 5 councillors (two nominated by the Conservative Group, two nominated by the Labour Group and one nominated by the Liberal Democrat Group).
- (7) That the Sub-Committees report to a future meeting of the Committee with proposals for appointments to the bodies for which it is responsible.
- (8) That the Committee confirms the delegation of local choice and non-executive functions made by the Regulatory Committee of the previous Council to Area Committees and officers.

The meeting rose at 11.15 a.m.	
	Chair